Skip to main content

front page image

The purpose of the Graduate Student Organization (GSO) is to promote the varied interests of the graduate students of UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy. The GSO acts as a liaison between students and faculty to help improve the quality of education and overall experience of students in the School. In addition, the GSO also provides opportunities for students to engage in social and community service events throughout the year. These events may include holiday events, happy hours, fundraisers for charity, and more.

Membership in the Graduate Student Organization is extended to all graduate students in the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy including students whose primary affiliation is outside the School (e.g., public health, pharmacology, toxicology, etc.) but whose major adviser is a faculty member of the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy.

The GSO’s objectives include:

  1. Improving and sustaining the quality and reputation of graduate education at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy;
  2. Facilitating rapport among graduate students in the various divisions of the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy;
  3. Encouraging interaction between graduate and professional students;
  4. Facilitating communication between graduate students, faculty, and administration of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill;
  5. Discouraging, revealing and eliminating discrimination against graduate students based on sex, race, religion, national origin, age, disability, or sexual orientation;
  6. Encouraging participation in University, state, and national graduate student and scientific organizations;
  7. Promoting professional development of each student. The organization also plans social and community service events to promote interaction among students, faculty and other members of the community. These activities allow graduate students to relax, foster relationships with peers and broaden their interactions beyond what is provided in an academic environment.

GSO Officers and Contact Information

For current graduate students: please feel free to contact your division representative or a member of the GSO executive board if you have any questions or concerns that should be brought to the attention of the GSO. Thank you!

GSO Executive Board

President: Henry Dieckhaus

Vice President: Avery Huber

Treasurer: Raymond Flax

Secretary: Ena Vujic

Communications Chair: Jessica Lipori

Outreach Chair: Jacob Capener


GSO Division Representatives

CBMC: Raymond Flax

DPMP: Nicole Rose Lukesh

DPET: Ian Dilley




Will Taylor

Assistant Director, Office of Curricular and Student Affairs

Graduate Program


Click here for the GSO Constitution

Minutes from Previous Meetings