Skip to main content

About PLS

Phi Lambda Sigma (PLS) supports pharmacy leadership commitment by recognizing leaders and fostering leadership development. The Epsilon Chapter of PLS at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy strives to create a culture where students can reach their full potential by establishing resources and opportunities for professional growth.

National Organization Website:


One-time payment based on time of initiation:
PY2s – $175.00
PY3s – $150.00

PLS: Frequently Asked Questions

  • How can I join PLS?
    Members of PLS are nominated by their peers for initiation into the society. Second and third-year pharmacy school students are eligible for nomination, with a total of 10% of one class being inducted each year. This nomination is an honor based on the nominated student’s leadership activities and potential for leadership in the school, the community, and the nation. The nomination process will begin in the late Fall.
  • What are my responsibilities as a member?
    Attend general body meetings, create and support leadership development events, and participate in the new member selection process.
  • How much of a time commitment is PLS?
    Depending on your involvement, the time commitment can vary. Most roles are a low-time commitment
  • What happens at PLS meetings?
    Discuss and plan upcoming chapter events, recognize student leaders, and brainstorming of future chapter initiatives
  • What would I benefit from being a part of PLS?
    Distinction as a student leader in pharmacy and the opportunity to formally develop the leadership skills of others in your school and community.


  • Professionalism Session at New Student Orientation
  • Fall Leadership Development Series (theme varies by year, such as Women in Leadership Series and Diversity in Leadership Series)
  • PLS Leadership Conference
  • President’s Panel
  • Redefining Success: Tackling Failure in Leadership
  • 50/50 Leadership: Leadership Beyond the President

Fall Leadership Series (3 event series): This series will enable diverse leaders, within all areas of pharmacy, to provide their personal journeys and perspectives, while engaging in meaningful discussions about diversity in pharmacy leadership with our students. The first session of the series welcomes UNC Faculty. The second session welcomes pharmacists in the pharmaceutical industry. The third session welcomes pharmacists in the healthcare system. Students will still be able to actively interact with our speakers through designated question and answer periods throughout the session. Our speakers are excited to engage with all of you, as they recognize the importance in this topic, and want to ensure the next generation of healthcare providers can move the bar forward in this area

50/50 Leadership Panel: Event for ESOP students interested in becoming student leaders. Features a panel of PY2 and PY3 student leaders to discuss experiences in leadership in a discussion-based setting, giving attention to leadership positions beyond the president role.

President’s Panel: The presidents from each of the student organizations at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy talk about their experiences with leadership and any advice they may have for individuals interested in student leadership.

Navigating Your Leadership Positions: Students reflect on their inner strengths, learn how to better manage their schedules, explore the importance of both little “Ls” and big “Ls”, review the current available student leadership positions offered at the school, and receive tips/advice on how to successfully obtain a leadership position. Objectives of the event include: Encouraging the exploration of individual talents, passions, and time management skills; Exploring leadership as a positional and abstract concept; Aligning individual strengths to available positions and roles at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy; Considering next steps along students’ leadership pathway

PLS Leadership

Tazche Turner (

Vice President
Jada Abrams (

Gaith Hajeh (

Emily Relic (

Leadership Development Co-Chairs
Mayur Krishna (

Leadership Development Co-Chairs
Hannah Summers (

Asheville Liaison
Cassidy Cox (

Faculty Advisor

Dr. Caroline Sasser ( and Dr. Adam Persky (


Like us on Facebook